• Name of Director : Mr. Akinsolu, Martins Itunu


The Department of Secondary Education is one of the Ten (10) Departments in the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology saddled with the responsibility of overseeing the smooth running of all Public and Private Secondary Schools in the State. In doing this, the Department performs the following basic functions: i. Registration of prospective SS.3 candidates for May/June WASSCE and NECOSSCE.
ii. Appointment of consultants for WASSCE and WAEC CASS registration exercise.
iii. Sale of Application Forms (Screening Test) for eligible primary six pupils into JS.1 in public schools with boarding facilities.
iv. Sale of Application Forms for eligible learners into all the State’s Model Colleges.
v. Sale and processing of Transfer forms for applicants seeking intra and inter-state transfers into JSS.1, JSS2 and SSS1 and SSS2.
vi. Conduct and administration of the State Summer Camp.
vii. Processing applications for constitution of Board of Governors instrument of office.
viii. Issuance of letter of attestation to applicants wishing to further Higher Education abroad.
ix. sale of application forms for new private schools.
x. Inspection of newly established Private Secondary Schools for provisional and final approval.
xi. Attending to Issues relating to Court cases in secondary schools.
xii. Inspection of Private Secondary Schools for upgrading approval.
xiii. Treatment of mails emanating from stakeholders in Education Sector.
xiv. Maintenance of infrastructures in our Public Secondary Schools.
xv. Return of Schools to original owners (Missionaries).
xvi. Matters relating to All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Parent Teacher’s Association (P.T.A) and other professional bodies
xvii. All matters relating to Insurance Scheme in public secondary schools.
xviii. Overseeing the conduct of competitions such as Cowbell Mathematic and Spark competitions.
xix. All other matters relating to secondary education in the State.